#TBT: From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg

Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 10.06.25 PMI’m branching out a little on this week’s #TBT and going all middle-grade :-). I don’t write middle grade myself, but I read a ton of it when I was a kid, and this book stands out as one of my all-time faves.

From The Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler is about an eleven-year-old girl who runs away from home with her little brother to live in the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

And I mean, honestly– have you ever heard such an awesome middle grade premise? When you were eleven years old, if someone said to you, “Hey, would you like to go live in the Metropolitan Museum of Art?” your answer would unquestionably be “Um, YES.”

I had to include this cover, too, since it's the one I had when I was a kid!

I had to include this cover, too, since it’s the one I had when I was a kid!

Anyway, there are a million reviews of this online (it did win the 1968 Newbery, after all), so I won’t bore you with a lengthy review. All I’ll say is, if you write middle grade (or if you happen to be a middle grader right now), you absolutely must read this fun, charming, engaging little book. And if anyone out there has any current plans to run away to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, let me know. I’ll bring popcorn.

Happy reading!

xo Elizabeth

 

Leave a Reply

