THE SUNDAY REVIEW: Coming Out to Play by Robbie Rogers

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 6.34.37 PMSo, let me just say this up front: I don’t usually like autobiographies. Maybe it’s because I spend most of my days in the hospital listening to people talk about themselves, or maybe I’m just emotionally stunted and only like YA/NA. Regardless, a friend really recommended Coming Out to Play, so I thought I’d give it a shot. And guys, let me tell you — it was sort of awesome.

A little excerpt from the book blurb:

“Robbie Rogers knows better than most that keeping secrets can crush you. But for much of his life Robbie lived in paralyzing fear that sharing his big secret would cost him the love of his family and his career as a professional soccer player. So he never told anyone what was destroying his soul, both on and off the field.

While the world around Robbie was changing with breathtaking speed, he knew that for a gay man playing a professional team sport it might as well be 1958. He could be a professional soccer player.  Or he could be an out gay man. He couldn’t do both.”

I feel like I could go on and on about this book for days, but I’ll boil it down to this: Coming Out to Play is insightful without being preachy, inspiring without being nauseating and hopeful without being cheesy. It’s also full of some damn good writing.***

You can buy Coming Out to Play here (Kindle edition here). Or, if you’re feeling old school, you can probably find it in one of these.

Happy reading!

xo Elizabeth

*** “You don’t grow up hating yourself by accident. You don’t learn to lie about your true nature on a whim. You don’t pretend to be straight just for the fun of it. You have to learn and be taught these things, and I was a good student.”

Leave a Reply

